Movie Reviews The Basement

The Geekometer: Justice League Edition

An aggregate of Justice League review scores from REAL fans.

Justice League reviews went live officially last night and we’re doing our best to aggregate reviews from fandom – REAL fans. This is our first go at this so help us out a little! If you have an established website (meaning more than a couple of articles) and have reviewed Justice League, pass it along to us with a rating on a scale of 1-10. We’ll be updating this frequently.

Methodology

Getting accurate aggregate scoring for film reviews isn’t easy. Like Rotten Tomatoes, there’s a fair amount of judgement calls and assumptions when reviewers don’t give definitive numerical rankings or letter grades. In these cases, we actually low-ball the scores in our system. A gushing review might be a 9.0 or a 9.5. A generally positive becomes a 8.0 or 8.5. And a mixed-positive falls in the 7.0 – 7.9 range. Mixed-negative will be in the 6.0 – 6.9 range while deplorable ones, eh, we’ll just give them a 5.0 and be done with it.

When reviewers DO give numerical scores, they sometimes have to be recalculated to fit our review grading system. For example, 4 out of 5 Stars sounds like a great review, it’s actually 80%. So when transferring to our ‘Scale of 1 – 10’ system, it becomes 8 out of 10. If you find that flawed, by all means tell me why I’m wrong. I like numbers, but I’m not real good at crunching them.

The reviews we include here are either submitted to us or found on Twitter. We then check to see if the reviewer is on Rotten Tomatoe’s critics list and ignore the ones that are. Criteria for inclusion is simple:

1. Reviewer isn’t a Rotten Tomatoes critic
2. Reviewer actually has a website with other reviews.
3. Bonus points if the reviewer often writes about genre movies (science fiction, horror, superheroes, etc.)

Finally, we are not handpicking the reviews to achieve a specific score range. If you’re surprised our aggregate score is a bit higher than Rotten Tomatoes, it’s because these reviews are from writers who essentially cover genre films (horror, sci fi, superhero, fantasy, etc.) They’re not arthouse critics and don’t review films based on pretension.

And, by all means, if your review is represented here and I misinterpreted your rank, let me know and I’ll correct it.

So here we go!

Geekometer
  • 9.5/10
    Geek the Dog - 9.5/10
  • 9/10
    Ain't It Cool News / Hercules - 9.0/10
  • 8/10
    The Daily Popcorn - 8.0/10
  • 10/10
    Cinescape - 10/10
  • 7.5/10
    Gregg Katzman's Babbling Blog - 7.5/10
  • 8/10
    Nerd it Hear First - 8.0/10
  • 9/10
    Clickbait Entertainment - 9.0/10
  • 9/10
    Lauren Lvs Movies - 9.0/10
  • 8/10
    The Flite Cast - 8.0/10
  • 8.5/10
    Nerdtino - 8.5/10
  • 8/10
    Comicbook.com - 8.0/10
  • 7.5/10
    TalkingNerdz - 7.5/10
  • 7.5/10
    Back of the Head - 7.5/10
  • 8.5/10
    Men's Stuff - 8.5/10
  • 9.5/10
    LetterBoxd / Josh Bryan - 9.5/10
  • 4/10
    Games Radar - 4.0/10
  • 8/10
    GameSpot - 8.0/10
  • 8.5/10
    We Live Entertainment - 8.5/10
  • 6/10
    Casey Movie Mania - 6.0/10
  • 6/10
    SciFi Now - 6.0/10
  • 7.5/10
    My New York Eye - 7.5/10
  • 9/10
    Hype.My - 9.0/10
  • 9/10
    Lilithea Reviews - 9.0/10
  • 8.5/10
    Black Nerd Girls - 8.5/10
  • 8/10
    Flickering Myth - 8.0/10
  • 5/10
    Film Thrills - 5.0/10
  • 3.8/10
    The Blue Spot - 3.75/10
  • 9/10
    A List Reviews - 9.0/10
  • 6/10
    Why So Blu - 6.0/10
  • 6/10
    Comiconverse - 6.0/10
  • 8.5/10
    Splice Today - 8.5/10
  • 6/10
    Razor Fine - 6.0/10
  • 8.5/10
    Geeks of Color - 8.5/10
  • 4/10
    Next Best Picture - 4.0/10
  • 7.5/10
    Cultured Vulures - 7.5/10
  • 6/10
    Flick Reel - 6.0/10
  • 7.5/10
    Vanya Land - 7.5/10
  • 7/10
    Geeks and Gamers - 7.0/10
  • 7/10
    The Iris - 7.0/10
  • 9/10
    Film Legacy - 9.0/10
  • 7/10
    Rendy's Reviews - 7.0/10
  • 7/10
    The Reel Bits - 7.0/10
  • 8.7/10
    Ain't It Cool News / Big Eyes - 8.7/10
  • 8.5/10
    Cult Following - 8.5/10
  • 7.5/10
    Out of Dave's Head - 7.5/10
  • 7.5/10
    Review STL - 7.5/10
  • 7.5/10
    Super Bro Movies - 7.5/10
  • 7.5/10
    Goliath - 7.5/10
  • 8.5/10
    Comicbook Debate - 8.5/10
  • 8/10
    Gwinnette Daily Post - 8.0/10
  • 9/10
    Ain't It Cool News / Danni - 9.0/10
  • 6.5/10
    Tha Revue - 6.5/10
  • 7/10
    The World of Celebrity - 7.0/10
  • 7/10
    The Jam Report - 7.0/10
  • 8.5/10
    M-N-M Enthusiast - 8.5/10
  • 8/10
    LetterBoxd / Jaime habets - 8.0/10
  • 8/10
    Comic Book Movie - 8.0/10
  • 9/10
    Superfan K - 9.0/10
  • 8.5/10
    Bowling Green Daily - 8.5/10
  • 8/10
    In-Que - 8.0/10
  • 8/10
    Fade Out - 8.0/10
  • 8/10
    Virily - 8.0/10
  • 9/10
    Hoopla - 9.0/10
  • 7.5/10
    Movie Focus - 7.5/10
7.6/10

Quotes:

“Justice League is… a fun thrill ride, with action, drama, humour, scares, pathos, hidden depth, and humanity, the only serious disappointment is that you’ll want more when the film finishes.” ~ Fade Out

“Justice League is a character(s) piece that plays like one of those three to four episode arcs from the Justice League animated series. In managing your expectations, Justice League will satisfy your antsy taste buds that is thirsting for a comic-book film that blends together the best of both worlds that this genre has to offer.” ~ Geeks and Gamers

“Justice League is an epic high-octane film ride. Amazingly-stunning, love this comic book film. Wow!” ~ The Daily Popcorn

“The film feels like it’s playing things a little too safe and predictable at times, but it’s entertaining throughout the whole ride. This cinematic universe is still so young and I can’t wait to see what the future has in store for us, especially after witnessing that credits scene.” ~ Gregg Katzman’s Babbling Blog 7.5

“Justice League isn’t the movie I expected it to be, but that’s a good thing. It left me feeling optimistic about the DC Extended Universe going forward.” ~ Nerd it Here First

“JUSTICE LEAGUE Is The Best DC Comics Movie Since The Nolan Boys’ THE DARK KNIGHT!!” ~ Ain’t It Cool News 9.0

“A really good outing, one of my favorite DC movies of all time. Recommended.”~ Lauren Lvs Movies

“The bottom line is that Justice League is awesome and delivers DC fans and DCEU fans exactly what we want from our beloved characters and vibrant world.” ~ The Flite Cast 8.0

“What shocked me about this film was that it was FUN and humorous mixed with great action sequences. It was almost like the good ole’ days when you watched Justice League Unlimited on the Cartoon Network.” ~ Nerdtino

“Justice League is the real deal. It’s an epic ensemble of super heroes. It’s the most fun you’ll have with Batman and his super friends, until their next adventure together, and marks the beginning of a brand new era of super heroes on the DC side of the spectrum.” ~ Comicbook.com

“The small, human moments are worth celebrating. These are the moments that make Justice League worth it.” ~ Back of the Head

“A fantastic superhero film which gives each of DC’s biggest stars moments in the spotlight, while also delivering some humorous moments when they’re all together; and being alive during the Justice League’s first on-screen, live-action appearance is a bonus in itself.” Men’s Stuff

“Justice League was everything I could’ve wished/hoped for. It’s visually striking/action-packed, featuring a vibrant cast, comedic/grounded in parts, despite some minor issues full of comic book magic!” ~ Letterboxd

“Justice League is a superhero movie made to a familiar recipe. Competently assembled and largely coherent, sure, but it’s dispiriting to see DC so transparently chasing Marvel’s tail now.” ~ Games Radar

“Through all the setbacks, uncertainties, reshoots, shake-ups, and drama, it seemed unlikely that Justice League would wind up anything other than a complete mess. And yet, here we are: Justice League is a pretty good movie. As a team-up movie and a fresh jumping-off point for the DCEU, Justice League is a 100-story leap in the right direction.” ~ Gamespot

“Justice League is bold, exciting and a darker superhero team that is as unapologetically honest as it is fiercely entertaining, leaving us asking ‘Avengers who?'” ~ We Live Entertainment

“JUSTICE LEAGUE is a mishmash of paper-thin plot and feeble villain, but this movie got things right in terms of executing its lively superhero characters as well as a worthy input from Joss Whedon.” ~ Casey Entertainment

“We left wanting to see more from these heroes, it’s great to see them together on the big screen, and Justice League has definitely got its moments, but it is a little sad that the most enthusiastic response to the film that we can muster is ‘it’s fine.'” ~ SciFi Now

“Overall, it’s an enjoyable film, with great cast, good direction, amazing visuals and many of our favorite superheroes together on the big screen. And it works! Let’s just hope that this is a sign of DC on a new path, and it continues in the right direction. And like Justice League, the upcoming films do justice to its fans.” ~ My New York Eye

“Holy Cow! This Movie Is Good. (And) here’s the funny thing: despite its thin plot and mediocrely written characters, this movie works, really well.” ~ Hype.My

“Well it seems like DC Films and Warner Bros have been taking down notes and paying attention to the audience reaction of their past films, because they really reeled it in with Justice League. I admit, I was worried that Justice League would be another disappointment, but I couldn’t be happier to be wrong.” ~ Lilithia Reviews

“I had low expectations for this movie and was pleasantly surprised. Justice League delivers on its action, special effects, performance, and story. It’s a pleasant surprise to see a film with both Batman and Superman that isn’t abominable, horrendous and dreadful.” ~ Black Girl Nerds

“It is a very good film that is more than the sum of its parts. Fans of these characters and the DCEU should be very happy with this entertaining and sometimes insightful adventure.” ~ Flickering Myth

“This film is soulless and a vapid waste of everyone’s time and energy.” ~ Film Thrills

“It just feels like somebody haphazardly threw several ingredients into a pot and prayed that it would work. Unfortunately it does not, merely leaving behind arguably the biggest stain on the DCEU yet.” ~ The Blu Spot

“It seems the filmmakers listened to audience feedback, and following the huge success of Wonder Woman, this latest film in the franchise is full of laughs.” ~ A List Reviews

“If Warner Bros. is redirecting the ship for their next set of DC films, I look forward to what another Justice League movie will look like on surer footing. For now, I’m satisfied with the ride, even if it is a reasonably safe one.” ~ Why So Blu

“I came out with more positive outlooks on the DCEU than before: which is the right push for a controversial universe.” ~ Comiconverse

“Justice League may represent only a minor step forward for the DC movies, but a step forward it remains, and we can begin to see the outlines of a better DC era.” ~ Splice Today

“Justice League does produce a flawed yet entertaining film bringing DC heroes together against a common threat. It’s not the follow-up to Wonder Woman DC fans were hoping for, but it’s a fair bit better than I expected.” ~ Razor Fine

“A fun-filled ride with DC’s iconic heroes. The movie definitely has something for everyone, which can usually be a hit or a miss, but Justice League manages to pull it off.” ~ Geeks of Color

“Justice League” is an orgy of images that manage to entertain us on a spectacle level and nothing more. While the film takes a lot of hits in its storytelling department, it still happens to be charming from time to time.” ~ Next Best Picture

“The good news for those on the fence is that the superhero team-up is fun and it’s a fast-paced two hours.” ~ Cultured Vultures

“It’s hard to say what exactly the future holds for the DCEU, but the studio finally has a solid foundation to build upon. Walking out of the theater, Justice League will leave you with hope for a better tomorrow.” ~ Flick Reel

“Justice League reminds me most of the first JJ Abrams-directed Star Trek movie (one that I like quite a bit!), which is a joy to watch unfold on the big screen but totally falls apart with regards to plot and theme and character after you exit the theater.” ~ VanyaLand

“Well-meaning overall, Justice League continues DC’s history of ambitious yet flawed products that feel more like a launching pad for solo ventures as opposed to a cohesive film on its own accord. But is that such a bad thing? I can’t defend the film on its inconsistencies but I was personally never bored.” ~ The Iris

“There is so much heart and laughter to be found in the film, and I was itching to see it again as soon as I left the theater. Simply put, JUSTICE LEAGUE is pure, unabashed fun.” ~ Film Legacy

“Though the first act is established unbearably sloppily, “Justice League,” makes a 180° left turn by the second act and maintains throughout by becoming an entertaining ensemble superhero movie that proves the DCEU may still have some fuel in its tank.” ~ Rendy’s Reviews

“While the production was beset by tragedy, the final product is an uncharacteristic bit of fun for a series that has hitherto reveled in the dark corners of Zack Snyder’s Murderverse.” ~ Reel Bits

“We get actual characters with motivations and personalities and see them interact in ways that entertain and inspire. (They realize) as a unit they are better than any could be individually; a lesson that Marvel still stumbles in telling in its team up films.” ~ Cult Following

“The film is not the complete disaster many were expecting, but neither is it the triumph many were hoping for.” ~ Out of Dave’s Head

Although the film did deliver some entertaining dialogue and some pretty cool visuals, I still couldn’t help but feel underwhelmed at the it’s end. ~ Review STL

“Justice League isn’t the DCEU’s best film, that title still belongs to Wonder Woman, but it’s certainly the most fun and enjoyable to watch DC film to date. Finally seeing the Justice League be the Justice League is unmatched in cinema spectacle, and while the Avengers technically did it first, no offense to Captain America and crew they are not the freaking JUSTICE LEAGUE.”
~ Super Bro Movies

“Better late than never. The Justice League is every comic lovers dream come true. Bring on the Aquaman, Wonder Women 2, Flash and maybe Cyborg movies? Oh, and I wonder what Luther’s up too?” ~ Goliath

“From start to finish, Justice League is an experience, full of character arcs, great team dynamics, amazing action, impeccable visuals and cinematography, all packed together with tons of comic book easter eggs and references. Zack Snyder successfully built a complex, powerful Superman trilogy that started with the sci-fi epic of Man of Steel, continued with the political thriller of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice and concluded with an optimistic action packed epic adventure with Justice League.” ~ Comicbook Debate

“DC, you finally got your “Avengers.” But we viewers — Marvel and DC fans alike — are the winners.” ~ Gwinnette Daily Post

Justice League wasn’t a fantastic film but it was better than Batman Vs Superman and it makes for good entertainment and is quite enjoyable. There were a few Easter eggs (look out for Green Lantern’s origins) and good character development.” ~ Tha Revue

“The honest truth is that for an “event feature”, it’s wholly forgettable. Thankfully, the Justice League themselves are a fun bunch to be around, so here’s hoping that future writers and directors can create stories worthy of the talented actors embodying these charismatic symbols of hope.” ~ The World of Celebrity

“As a film, Justice League represents everything great and everything awful about this DC franchise. We get lots to love but also plenty to despise.” ~ The Jam Report

“Justice League is quite satisfying!” ~ M-N-M Enthusiest

“It’s a fun watch overall so i still recommend it. But i know that DC can do a lot better. It’s good, not great.” ~ Letterboxd / Jaime Habets

“Justice League is a loud, brash, campy, exciting, hilarious, messy, but ultimately fulfilling superhero adventure. Its significant flaws mean it’s unlikely to win over most critics, but comic book aficionados – particularly of the DC variety – should have a hell of a time with it. Personally, I left the screening with a big, stupid grin on my face, and I believe a good chunk of you lot will too.” ~ Comic Book Movie

Watch Superfan K’s video review here.

“Continuing DC’s momentum from “Wonder Woman,” “Justice League” is a breezy, fun extension of “Batman vs. Superman” that finally feels like the event superhero movie that DC has tried to concoct since Man of Steel.” ~ Bowling Green Daily

“The movie was fun. Yes my first statement of this review as most other film critics have given this movie a lower tier score, I represent the actual comic-book fan and will say this movie was an excellent popcorn movie.” ~ In-Que

“My overall impression of this movie was a great DC movie. Not as good as Wonder Woman, but good.” ~ Viraly

About the author

Joey Davis

Joey is a former rock star, former DJ, comic book & political historian, and novelist who once read the ingredients on a chewing gum wrapper and unlocked the secrets of the universe.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

X